The Beginner's Guide to Chakras

The Beginner's Guide to Chakras

You walk into your first yoga class or drop into a crystal shop, and someone starts talking about chakras. Seriously, what even IS a chakra? How many chakras are there? What does each chakra represent?

Let’s break it down.

What is a Chakra?

The Beginners Guide to Chakras: 7 Chakras System

The term Chakra is derived from the Sanskrit cakra, meaning "wheel". Chakras are spinning energy centers in our bodies that correspond to different parts of our physical, emotional, and spiritual being. 

There are several different chakra systems, ranging from 7 to 114 chakras. Most traditions agree on 7 main chakras. 

Each chakra has its own color, symbol, and function.

The 7 Chakras

The 7 main chakras are located along the spine, starting at the base (near the tailbone) and moving upward toward the top of the head.

Starting at the base of the spine, the chakras are located in the following order: Root, Sacral, Solar Plexus, Heart, Throat, Third Eye, and Crown Chakra.


Root Chakra (Muladhara)

The first chakra, known as the Root Chakra, is located at the base of the spine. It is associated with survival instincts, survival, and basic trust.

The Beginners Guide to Chakras: Root Chakra | Coley Made

Sanskrit Name: Muladhara
Location: Base of spine
Color: Red
Function: Security & Survival
Affirmation: "I am"

Balanced Expression:
Feeling grounded, safe, secure, and comfortable

Imbalanced Expression: 
Spaced out, fearful, insecure, lack of purpose, fatigued, worried

Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana)

The second chakra, known as Sacral Chakra, is located between the navel and reproductive organs. It is associated with sexuality and creativity.
The Beginners Guide to Chakras: Sacral Chakra | Coley Made
Sanskrit Name: Svadhishthana
Location: Lower abdomen below navel
Color: Orange
Function: Sexuality & Creativity
Affirmation: "I feel"
Balanced Expression:
Creative, capable of enjoying pleasure, passionate

Imbalanced Expression: 
Lack of creativity, fear of intimacy, low libido


Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

The third chakra, known as Solar Plexus Chakra, is located just below the navel. It is associated with personal power.

The Beginners Guide to Chakras: Solar Plexus Chakra | Coley Made
Sanskrit Name: Manipura
Location: Upper abdomen
Color: Yellow
Function: Personal Power & Wisdom
Affirmation: "I do"

Balanced Expression:
Confident, energetic, productive

Imbalanced Expression: 
Low self-worth and self esteem, powerless

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

The fourth chakra, known as Heart Chakra, is located above the heart. It is associated with love, compassion, and healing.
The Beginners Guide to Chakras: Heart Chakra | Coley Made
Sanskrit Name:
Location: Center of chest
Color: Green
Function: Love & Healing
Affirmation: "I love"

Balanced Expression:
Compassionate, love for self and others, trust

Imbalanced Expression: 
Lack of trust, lack of empathy, anger, jealousy

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

The fifth chakra, known as Throat Chakra, is located (you guessed it!) in the throat area. It is associated with truth, expression, and communication.

The Beginners Guide to Chakras: Throat Chakra | Coley Made

Sanskrit Name: 
Location: Throat
Color: Blue
Function: Communication & Expression
Affirmation: "I speak"

Balanced Expression:
Expresses personal truth, strong communicator, good listener

Imbalanced Expression: 
Difficulty communicating, dishonest

The throat chakra just doesn’t get the respect it deserves.

I mean, what good is a crown chakra if you can’t tell anyone about the fantastic visions you’re having? And what’s the use of a root chakra if you can’t explain to others that your sense of security and survival is all tied up in the dining room table your grandfather made when he was in his 20s?

Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

The sixth chakra, known as Third Eye Chakra, is located behind the forehead. It is associated with intuition and spiritual awareness.The Beginners Guide to Chakras: Third Eye Chakra

Sanskrit Name: Ajna
Location: Forehead, between eyebrows
Color: Indigo
Function: Intuition & Awareness
Affirmation: "I see"

Balanced Expression:
Intuitive, healthy imagination

Imbalanced Expression: 
Lack of focus, poor imagination

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

The seventh chakra, known as the Crown Chakra, is located at the top of the head. It is associated with enlightenment and bliss.

The Beginners Guide to Chakras: Crown Chakra | Coley Made
Sanskrit Name: 
Location: Top of head
Color: Violet
Function: Spirituality & Enlightenment 
Affirmation: "I know"

Balanced Expression:
Enlightenment, self-realization, wisdom

Imbalanced Expression: 
Lack of faith, disconnection

Chakra Balancing

The Beginners Guide to Chakras: Crystal Correspondences

As humans, we will all have moments of one or more chakras being out of balance. To function at their best, the chakras need to remain balanced. Imbalances in chakras may cause physical or emotional symptoms relating to that chakra.

There are many ways that you can work with your chakras. Yoga, meditation, breathwork, Reiki healing, and working with crystals are just a few that come to mind. Do some research and follow what feels good.

If you’re looking to learn more about how to use crystals for chakra healing purposes, check out our guide The 7 Chakras And Their Corresponding Crystals here.

Back to blog